Miracle – English Translation

Here is the English translation of a story I posted the other day. I really wish you could read Japanese, because this story works so well in Japanese: servant language, grammatically perfect Japanese, and the difference between heart/mind and heart/organ not reflected in English. There are also other word differences that do not have quite the same nuances in English. If anybody is interested in an analysis of my word choices in Japanese let me know…

Translating your own work is really hard. I want to stick to my original sentence structure, even though I should make it sound like more natural English.

So please, if you have any tips about writing formal English or robotic English, please give me your comments.

This is a very short steampunk story narrated from the point of view of an automaton. I may expand it later. Enjoy!

PS: Please imagine this in the most formal, humble language you can. I used extremely respectful language, especially when talking about Master. Thanks forever ❤

I have got a problem. It is raining. What should I do? If I go outside I will rust, but if I do not go out I will not deliver the medicine to Master and he may die. Either choice is unacceptable. What should I do?

Master said that I am a miracle. Why? I asked.

“You have no brain, no heart, no soul, and yet you can think and speak wonderfully,” he said.

“Oh I see,” I said. “But Master, you made me, so surely you comprehend how my body functions?” I asked.

“Well, I should, but the workings of your heart are incredible. Yes I made the part of you that acts like a brain, but I do not understand your mind,” said Master.

I nodded in reply, but I did not understand the subject matter of which he spoke. Maybe it is because I am merely a machine. However, Master is a human so he must thoroughly understand how machines work, should he not? Perhaps he created the mechanics of my body, but he does not understand the way I think and emote. Of course I am only a creation so I cannot understand how my own mechanics work,  but M a s  t  e  r   i  s   m  y  c  r   e   a    t   o

Pardon me. That was inexcusable. At times when I cannot compute information my body stops. Master said, do not think too hard about things you don’t understand. Anyway, I still have a problem. It is raining. What should I do?

I do not want to put it into words, but Master is very ill. He has run out of medicine, and has sent me to retrieve more medicine. It looks like rain so hurry back, he said. However, while I was in the store it started raining. I have a problem. What should I do?

If I leave the store, my body will rust. My skin is copper and my mechanics are iron; my whole body is metal. However, I must deliver the medicine.

S o  e v e n  i f  I  r u s t  M a  s  t  e  r   n  e  e  d  s –

O  h    d    e    a    r  ,   H   e   f   o   r   g   o   t     t    o     w    i    n    d    m    y      k      e

Leave a Reply

